Democrats, News, Press Release


This June, several members of the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors conducted a business development trip to Ghana, a country with an extreme anti Lesbian-Gay, Bisexual-Transgender-Queer (LGBTQ) belief system.  Ghanaian investment in the U.S. was already in peril due to pending legislation in Ghana’s Parliament to criminalize LGBTQ individuals and their advocates.  That legislation, now law, mandates a 3-year prison sentence for identifying as LGTBQ; up to 10 years for advocating for LGBTQ rights; up to one year for “a public show of romantic [same sex] relations;” and a prohibition against transgender marriage.

The trip to Ghana included Phyllis Randall, Chair of the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors, Supervisor Koran Saines and Supervisor Sylvia Glass, plus a delegation of at least 8 others. It proceeded despite a public warning from the sponsor of the anti-LGBTQ bill that any interference in the draconian legislation would bring a halt to Ghana’s business interests in the U.S.  (Emphasis Added).  

Not only did members of Loudoun County’s Board of Supervisors display a disregard for human rights in Ghana, but Ms. Randall suggested that a small chocolate factory could be enticed to relocate to Loudoun County, seemingly unaware that child labor is employed in Ghanaian cacao farming.

Freedom is the founding principle upon which this country was built.  Loudoun County must stand firm for those freedoms, not sell out our county’s integrity to the highest bidder.  It’s time to replace Loudoun County Board of Supervisors members who turn a blind eye to human rights violations while embarking on taxpayer-funded shopping sprees under the guise of a business trip to benefit our county.  Say no to Board members Randall, Briskman, Saines, and Glass.  

Contact the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors at BOS@loudoun.gov , or email your district supervisor at the email address below. 

Phyllis Randall, Chair-At-Large   Email:  Phyllis.randall@loudoun.gov

Julie Briskman, Algonkian District   Email:  Juli.Briskman@loudoun.gov

Koran Saines, Vice Chair, Sterling District     Email: Koran.Saines@loudoun.gov

Sylvia Glass, Broad Run District    Email:  Sylvia.Glass@loudoun.gov

Michael Turner, Ashburn District     Email:  Mike.Turner@loudoun.gov

Tony Buffington, Blue Ridge District     Email:  Tony.Buffington@loudoun.gov

Caleb Kershner, Catoctin District     Email:  Caleb.Kershner@loudoun.gov

Matthew Letourneau, Dulles District     Email:  Matt.Letourneau@loudoun.gov

Kristen Umstattd, Leesburg District     Email:  Kristen.Umstattd@loudoun.gov

Translate »